## **SPECIAL ISSUE**

Kenya Gazette Supplement No. 34 (Acts No. 1)



### REPUBLIC OF KENYA

# KENYA GAZETTE SUPPLEMENT

# **ACTS, 2016**

## NAIROBI, 22nd March, 2016

#### CONTENT

ct—	
	PAGE
The County Governments (Amendment) Act. 2016	1

# THE COUNTY GOVERNMENTS (AMENDMENT) ACT

#### No. 1 of 2016

Date of Assent: 15th March, 2016

Date of Commencement: 5th April, 2016

### AN ACT of Parliament to amend the County Governments Act

**ENACTED** by the Parliament of Kenya, as follows—

1. This Act may be cited as the County Governments (Amendment) Act, 2016.

Short title.

2. The County Governments Act, in this Act referred to as the "principal Act", is amended in section 2 by inserting the following new definitions in their proper alphabetical sequence—

Amendment of section 2 of No. 17 of 2012.

"city" has the meaning assigned to it under the Urban Areas and Cities Act, 2011;

No. 13 of 2011.

"urban area" has the meaning assigned to it under the Urban Areas and Cities Act, 2011;

No. 13 of 2011.

3. The principal Act is amended by inserting the following new section immediately after section 6—

Insertion of new section 6A.

Location of county governments.

- **6A.** (1) Each of the county governments shall be located in the respective physical location set out in the Third Schedule.
- (2) A County Assembly may, by a resolution supported by at least two-thirds of the members of the County Assembly and with the approval of Parliament, transfer the headquarters of the county government from the physical location specified in the Third Schedule to such other physical location as it may consider appropriate.
- (3) A County Assembly shall, before passing a resolution under subsection (2), facilitate public participation.

(4) The county governor shall confer the status of an urban area to the seat of the physical location of the county government in accordance with the provisions set out in the Urban Areas and Cities Act.

No. 13 of 2011,

**4.** The principal Act is amended by inserting the following new Schedule immediately after the Second Schedule—

Insertion of new Schedule.

#### THIRD SCHEDULE

(s. 6A(1))

#### PHYSICAL LOCATION OF COUNTY GOVERNMENTS

County		Physical Location
1.	Mombasa	Mombasa City
2.	Kwale	Kwale Urban Area
3.	Kilifi	Kilifi Urban Area
4.	Tana River	Hola Urban Area
5.	Lamu	Lamu Urban Area
6.	Taita/Taveta	Wundanyi Urban Area
7.	Garissa	Garissa Urban Area
8.	Wajir	Wajir Urban Area
9.	Mandera	Mandera Urban Area
10.	Marsabit	Marsabit Urban Area
11.	Isiolo	Isiolo Urban Area
12.	Meru	Meru Urban Area
13.	Tharaka-Nithi	Kathwana Urban Area
14.	Embu	Embu Urban Area
	Kitui	Kitui Urban Area
	Machakos	Machakos Urban Area
	Makueni	Makueni Urban Area
	Nyandarua	Ol Kalou Urban Area
	Nyeri	Nyeri Urban Area
	Kirinyaga -	Kerugoya Urban Area
	Murang'a	Murang'a Urban Area
	Kiambu	Kiambu Urban Area
	Turkana	Lodwar Urban Area
24.	West Pokot	Kapenguria Urban Area

# County

# Physical Location

	,	,
25.	Samburu	Maralal Urban Area
26.	Trans Nzoia	Kitale Urban Area
27.	Uasin Gishu	Eldoret Urban Area
28.	Elgeyo/Marakwet	Iten Urban Area
29.	Nandi	Kapsabet Urban Area
30.	Baringo	Kabarnet Urban Area
31.	Laikipia	Rumuruti Urban Area
32.	Nakuru	Nakuru Urban Area
33.	Narok	Narok Urban Area
34.	Kajiado	Kajiado Urban Area
35.	Kericho	Kericho Urban Area
36.	Bomet	Bomet Urban Area
37.	Kakamega	Kakamega Urban Area
38.	Vihiga	Vihiga Urban Area
39.	Bungoma	Bungoma Urban Area
40.	Busia	Busia Urban Area
41.	Siaya	Siaya Urban Area
42.	Kisumu	Kisumu City
	Homa Bay	Homa Bay Urban Area
44.	Migori	Migori Urban Area
45.	Kisii	Kisii Urban Area
46.	Nyamira	Nyamira Urban Area
47.	Nairobi	Nairobi City

